Skip to Main Content

Our Team • Leadership


Peter T. Meinke, PhD Peter T. Meinke, PhD
Sanders Director
In 2018, TDI is thrilled to welcome Dr. Peter T. Meinke as the new Sanders Director. Dr. Meinke is an industry veteran with extensive experience across all stages of drug discovery, from target validation through early clinical development. During his long tenure at Merck, his leadership produced one drug – the NS5A inhibitor, elbasvir, for the treatment of chronic hepatitis C – along with 13 development compounds that have advanced into the clinic in seven distinct therapeutic areas. In 2017, Dr. Meinke received the prestigious ACS Heroes of Chemistry Award in recognition of his contributions to the invention of elbasvir. He is co-author of over 90 peer-reviewed publications and co-inventor on more than 35 patents. Dr. Meinke also has significant international leadership experience: from 2008 to 2016, he worked and lived overseas in Shanghai, China, where he directed and mentored global drug discovery research teams while managing attendant business issues.


Current Members

Augustine M.K. Choi, MDAugustine M.K. Choi, MD
Dean, Weill Cornell Medicine
Interim Provost for Medical Affairs, Cornell University
Weill Chairman, Joan and Sanford I. Weill Department of Medicine

Barry Coller, MDBarry Coller, MD
David Rockefeller Professor
The Rockefeller University

Nathaniel Heintz, PhDNathaniel Heintz, PhD
James and Marilyn Simons Professor,
Laboratory of Molecular Biology
The Rockefeller University

Barbara L. Hempstead, MDBarbara L. Hempstead, MD
Dean of the Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences
Weill Cornell Medicine

Richard P. Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.Richard P. Lifton, MD, PhD
The Rockefeller University

Carl Nathan, MDCarl Nathan, MD
Chairman of Microbiology and Immunology
Weill Cornell Medicine

David Scheinberg, MD, PhDDavid Scheinberg, MD, PhD
Chairman of Molecular Pharmacology and Chemistry Program
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

David Scheinberg, MD, PhDDerek Tan, PhD
Chair, Chemical Biology Program
Sloan Kettering Institute
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Craig B. Thompson, MDCraig B. Thompson, MD
President and CEO
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center



LaLaurie Glimcher, MDLaurie H. Glimcher, MD
President of Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Marc Tessier-Lavigne, PhDMarc Tessier-Lavigne, PhD
Stanford University

Tri-I TDI Small Molecule Scientific Advisory Board

Mark Murcko, PhD
Founder & Board Member, Relay Therapeutics
Senior Lecturer, MIT

Mark Duggan, PhD
President, LifeSci Consulting, LLC
Vice President, Neuroscience, AstraZeneca

Joseph Vacca, PhD
President, Vacca Consulting, LLC

Takeda Members

Steven Hitchcock, PhD
Global Research Head
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Katherine Galvin, PhD
Sr. Director, Oncology Drug Discovery
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Paul Greenspan, PhD
Sr. Director, Discovery Chemistry
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company


Tri-I TDI Antibody Scientific Advisory Board

Matthew Moyle, PhD
CSO, Anaptys Bio, Inc.

Tomas Muselin, PhD
Division Head Rheumatology
University of Washington

David Robinson, PhD 
Deputy Dir Vaccine Development
Gates Foundation

Takeda Members

Antara Banerjee, PhD
Department of Immunology
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Kallo Ray, PhD
VP, Head of Global Biologics
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company

Alan Copenhaver, PhD
Principal Scientist, Oncology
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company



LEADERSHIP Peter T. Meinke, PhDSanders DirectorIn 2018, TDI is thrilled to welcome Dr. Peter T. Meinke as the new Sanders Director. Dr. Meinke is an industry veteran with extensive experience ac